To elaborate on my last post, I’m doing some serious fund-raising for Take The Plunge in September. I’ll give you all the downlow so that you know why I’m fund-raising, and what for!

Take The Plunge is a dock diving fun day in Ottawa where folks can come out with their dogs for a fun day of vendors, sport demos and dock diving. It’s being hosted by eight rescues:

  • Aussie Rescue & Placement Helpline
  • Boston Terrier Rescue Canada
  • Boxer Rescue Ontario
  • Bullies in Need
  • Cat Rescue Network
  • Catahoula Rescue
  • Collie Rescue Network
  • Ferret Rescue of Ottawa and Area (whom I actively volunteer with!)

It is my goal to not only get the supplies needed to have an AlliePets booth at the event, but to also be able to donate to the event itself. I have never had a booth at an event before, so I’ve been working on a budget for the things I need.  A lot of supplies I need are “one-time” purchases that I will be able to use for booths at many events in the future. These types of items include:

  • a 6′ folding table
  • a small dolly for transporting items
  • a simple sun shelter
  • tablecloth
  • an outdoor banner

These initial costs tend to pile up, and those costs compiled with costs of the products I intend to sell make up a sizeable fee.

This event is looking at 2,000 attendees, so it will be an excellent promotional opportunity for me. I plan on selling my handmade dog tugs, dog treats/cookies, t-shirts and bandanas, as well as having a portfolio of my pet portrait work on display and business cards available.

If anyone wants to donate to this cause, I happen to have an excellent summer promotion going on that you can take advantage of! Duotone sketches are only $20 and full-colour bust portraits are only $45! (Click the image to go to my website.)

Alternately, if you wish to donate to the fund-raising initiative, please feel free to do so via Finnegan’s Dorky Dock Diving Donate button below. All donaters will recieve a free gift, so please note your name and email address when donating! 🙂 Any extra funds raised will be given as a donation to the rescues running this amazing event.


Thank you all for your ongoing support!